Ventura College Athletics

2020 Men's and Women's Swimming & Diving Review

2020 Men's and Women's Swimming & Diving Review

The season had barely began, and then it was over. In a sport where progression of training builds to a pair of three-day meets at the end of the season, the Ventura College men's and women's swimming and diving teams had barely gotten in the pool before the coronavirus ended the year. Despite the short campaign, the Pirates still managed to make their mark.

 Sophomore Lester Wright headlined the season, shattering school records in both the 1m and 3m diving competitions. Meanwhile, sophomore Marcel Hurtubise had strong performances in the butterfly and individual medley events and Freshman Arturo Medina made a strong debut for the orange and black in the breast stroke, backstroke and medley events. Collin Spargur turned in fast times in the sprint freestyle races and Johnny Van Mannakes made his mark in the distance freestyle events. Ethan Enquist joined Medina, Hurtubise and Spargur for a pair of wins in the 200-yard medley relay.

Lauren Hooyer made a splash with her only race of 2020, a win in the 50-yard freestyle on Feb. 29. Raylynn Lipsky was a steady performer in the long freestyle sprints and Ary Martinez had strong times in the butterfly and individual medley events. Caitlin Burditt and Sierra Cameron also turned in strong performances in the long freestyle sprints for the Pirates. VC also had a trio of divers working toward the conference and state meets, including Masiel Martinez, Yaneli Calderon and Stefanie Covarrubias.

Wright was named the men's team Most Valuable Diver while Hurtubise and Medina shared the honors for the swimmers. Jake Peters was named the men's Team Scholar Athlete winner.

Ary Martinez and Burditt were singled out as team leaders for the VC women while Drew Reyes and Lipsky earned Team Scholar Athlete awards.

VC Men's Swimming & Diving 2020 VC Women's Swimming & Diving 2020
Most Valuable Athletes Team Leaders
Lester Wright - Diving Ary Martinez
Marcel Hurtubise - Sophomore Caitlin Burditt
Arturo Medina - Freshman Team Scholar Athletes
Team Scholar Athlete Drew Reyes
Jake Peters Raylynn Lipsky